Reading Roll Call…

What’s everyone reading these days? 

On the academic front, I’m reading Robert Axelrod’s “The Evolution of Cooperation.”

For fun, I’m making my way through Hemingway’s “For Whom the Bell Tolls.”

9 comments on “Reading Roll Call…

  1. David Cranford says:

    I’m in the midst of Rob Beck’s new volume “Chiefdoms, Collapse, and Coalescence in the American South”.

    Also, I’m getting through a suite of articles on pXRF and ceramics by Speakman, Glascock, and Shackley to help pull together this year’s SEAC paper.

  2. Alice Wright says:

    I just finished and would highly recommend Severin Fowles “An Archaeology of Doings: Secularism and the Study of Pueblo Religion.” Building off of a critique of a western definition of religion (i.e., a definition which parses “religion” into a sphere distinct from “society” and “politics” and “economy”), he explores a series of archaeological case studies from the Pueblo world that highlight the tangled up relationships between what we call religion and everything else people do. Well written, super readable, avoids throwing any babies out with the bathwater, and full of detailed archaeological findings that can only come from the sweet, sweet American Southwest. In sum, two thumbs way up.

    I also have Braudel on my night stand, which I imagine is giving me the stink eye every time I think to pick it up and then, think again…

    For fun, I am re-reading the Amelia Peabody mystery series by Elizabeth Peters. They are historical mysteries (!) about a family of Egyptologists (!) kickin a** and taking names and conducting meticulous excavations at the turn of the last century (!). The author was a trained archaeologist and apparently based some aspects of one of the main characters on Sir Flinders Petrie — so you know it’s LEGIT. I used to be embarrassed to say that these books were one of the reasons that teenage Alice started looking into archaeology, but then I found out Dr. Henry Wright (no relation, just the man) was also a big fan. Plus, E. Peters, who recently passed away, was clearly amazing; according to her website: “Shortly before her death, she had written a line to be posted on her webpage: ‘At 85, Elizabeth Peters is enjoying her cats, her garden, lots of chocolate, and not nearly enough gin.'” So, basically living the dream.

    • MC Sanger says:

      not sure if you know – but Sev is my adviser and he will be thrilled that people are reading his book. if you ever wanted to invite him to come and talk he would be super-geeked…..

  3. victoriagd says:

    The Logic of Practice (1990), Bourdieu – going through this verrrry slowly with a colleague (shout out to Rachel Hensler, fellow UK archy and Braves fan) and we’re meeting once a week to talk about a chapter at a time. Difficult but really productive.

    The Travels of William Bartram (UGA Press naturalist edition, published in 1998) – also with said two person reading group

    These are all for my dissertation development right now because I’m thinking about art and practice:

    Thinking through Material Culture (Knappett 2005)
    How Natives Think (Levy-Bruhl 1910)
    Meg Conkey’s dissertation (1978) – structuralism and bone pins! fun!
    In Contact: Bodies and Spaces in the Sixteenth- and Seventeenth-Century Eastern Woodlands (DiPaolo Loren 2008)

    For fun: MaddAddam (Atwood 2013) – finishing up Margaret Atwood’s Orxy and Crake trilogy of a mass human extinction and the few lone survivors in a trashed, chemically poisoned, morally corrupt world. Excellent and I highly recommend the whole series.

  4. Maureen Meyers says:

    For archaeology: “From Chicaza to Chickasaw”, by Robbie Ethridge, and the latest SEAC volume, and re-reading “Grit Tempered: Early Women Archaeologists of the Southeast”.

    For fun, I’ve been reading the 2010-2011 New York Times Obituaries, which are compiled yearly into a book. It’s a great way to learn about history and perseverance, and amazing facts about people. A very funny story about Blake Edwards almost committing suicide had us in tears (seriously). Also about to start Michener’s Pacific (Michener is my guilty pleasure).

    • For archaeology: I am currently revisiting the 2007 edited volume (by Rob Beck) called the Durable House: House Society Models in Archaeology. A great resource for anyone trying to reconcile the Levi Strauss model of a “social house” with an archaeologists’ definition of a household as structural remains. Also on this topic, I have had Joyce and Gillespie’s 2000 volume on my “to read” list for awhile (Beyond Kinship: Social and Material Reproduction in House Societies).

      And while I shouldn’t be reading anything for fun right now… some fellow graduate student friends doomed me by giving me a book called The Passage (by Justin Cronin). It’s the first book in an apocalpytic thriller trilogy on “very un-Twilight vampires” – and I can’t put it down. It has a similar feel to Stephen King’s the Stand, being very smart and well written, with excellent character development (just don’t get too attached to anyone).

  5. MPWalker says:

    As far as archaeology is related I am currently reading “Nonlinear Models for Archaeology,” by Christopher Beekman, which has been a very interesting look into our standard view and application of models. My more broad reading at the moment is “Constituent Imagination,” ed. by Stevphen Shukaitis and David Graeber, which is a discussion on the intersection of theory, practice, and social change and the concept of the academic vanguard. And (don’t tell my adviser that I have any free time) in my spare moments I am slowly reading “The Blind Spy,” by Alex Dryden a new-ish writer in the sub-genre of modern espionage.

  6. Derek says:

    I’ve been working my way through “Fitting Rocks: Lithic Refitting Examined” by Schurmans and De Bie, and “The Big Puzzle: International Symposium on Refitting Stone Artefacts” by Cziesla, to figure out if any of the thoughts that I’ve had about refitting are actually anything new (spoiler alert: they aren’t, although you wouldn’t know that from the North American literature). My last pleasure reading was Cold Mountain, which I read this summer.

  7. Tanya Peres says:

    “The Moral Lives of Animals” by Dale Peterson.

Leave a Reply

