Younger Dryas Impact (or lack thereof) Paper in Science…

A new article regarding a proposed comet impact at the beginning of the Younger Dryas is out. One of the key pieces of evidence is the presence of impact markers in a number of Clovis sites, including Topper in South Carolina.

However, Pigati et al. found the same markers in “black mat” deposits of varying ages – not just the well-known Clovis ones. This seems to be pretty problematic for the Impact Hypothesis.

http://news.sciencemag.org/sciencenow/2012/04/no-love-for-comet-wipeout.html?ref=hp

 

Here’s Vance (aka Doc) Holliday’s take on it all…

http://www.argonaut.arizona.edu/Clovis_Comet_Debate.html

3 comments on “Younger Dryas Impact (or lack thereof) Paper in Science…

  1. victoriagd says:

    This is a topic I know very little about aside from discussions with my paleo colleagues, so thanks for the link!

    I have great interest in social theory discussions surrounding human-environment relationships, especially climatic changes in the past. This morning I stumbled upon the new Archaeological Dialogues issue that was published online two days ago and should be in print in June (Here: http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayIssue?jid=ARD&tab=currentissue). I cannot access these articles yet because UKY doesn’t have a subscription to the journal (!) and ILL will make me wait until June. If you have a chance to look at these, will you please let me know what you think?

    Apologies to all because I’m still figuring out the kinks here with wordpress. I think there is probabaly a way to make that web address into a hyperlink, but I can’t figure it out at the moment.

    • victoriagd says:

      Look, it hyperlinked on its own! Awesome. [Sorry for double post]

    • Shane says:

      “I have great interest in social theory discussions surrounding human-environment relationships, especially climatic changes in the past.”

      Ditto, although I think I maybe come at it from a very different angle than you. I think if I still lived in Knoxville I would have driven up to UK a few times to hang out with the political ecology interest group you’ve mentioned before. And I think this comet/Younger Dryas issue/Pleistocene Overkill debate is ripe for reflection on a variety of topics.

      Anyways, those articles look really cool, but I can’t access them, either. Can anyone else get to them?

Leave a Reply

